DISCOGRAPHY

Duo Sostenuto

"Song of the moon" honors opera in all its richness and diversity. From mythical arias to brilliant fantasies, the great moments of the Opera are sublimated by the Duo Sostenuto.
The flute expresses with grace and poetry the warmth and lyricism of the voice, the guitar slips wonderfully into the richly colored costume of the orchestra.

The moon is an emblematic and marvelous star that has always fascinated and nourished the imagination of philosophers, painters, poets and musicians. It is at the origin of the two jewels of purity that are "Song to the moon" and "Casta Diva" which frame the repertoire of this recording.

 

But beyond these two masterpieces, it is the magical world of opera that is honored here. Opera has always given rise to a multitude of compositions related to its works: transcriptions of arias, caprices, fantasies, variations, paraphrases of opera arias mark the history of music. This repertoire has largely contributed to the popularity of the genre by allowing its diffusion in all kinds of concert venues in order to reach audiences not necessarily fortunate enough to go to the opera.

 

This is also the meaning of the approach of the Duo Sostenuto: to move, to communicate one's passion, to bring dreams by making people discover or rediscover in another form and thanks to this repertoire, operas rarely performed in their original version. The richness of the timbres and colors as well as the technical and expressive possibilities of the flute and the guitar have allowed Benoît ROULLAND to realize arrangements that faithfully retranscribe the musical universe of each opera approached.


Total duration : 56'20

Year 2017

Song to the Moon

Duo Sostenuto

"Song of the moon" met à l’honneur l’opéra dans toute sa richesse et sa diversité. Des airs mythiques aux fantaisies brillantes, les grands moments de l’Opéra sont sublimés par le Duo Sostenuto.
La flûte exprime avec grâce et poésie la chaleur et le lyrisme de la voix, la guitare se glisse à merveille dans le costume richement coloré de l’orchestre.

La lune est un astre emblématique et merveilleux qui fascine et nourrit depuis toujours l’imagination des philosophes, peintres, poètes et musiciens. Elle est à l’origine de ces deux bijoux de pureté que sont « Song to the moon » et « Casta Diva » qui encadrent le répertoire de cet enregistrement.

 

Mais au-delà de ces deux chefs d’œuvres, c’est l’univers magique de l’opéra qui est ici à l’honneur. L’opéra a toujours suscité une multitude de compositions liées à ses œuvres : transcriptions d’airs, caprices, fantaisies, variations, paraphrases sur des airs d’opéras jalonnent l’histoire de la musique. Ce répertoire a largement contribué à la popularité du genre en permettant la diffusion dans toutes sortes de lieux de concert afin de toucher des publics n'ayant pas forcément la chance de se rendre à l’opéra.

 

C’est aussi le sens de la démarche du Duo Sostenuto : émouvoir, communiquer sa passion, apporter du rêve en faisant découvrir ou redécouvrir sous une autre forme et grâce à ce répertoire, les opéras peu joués dans leur version originale. La richesse des timbres et des couleurs ainsi que les possibilités techniques et expressives de la flûte et la guitare ont permis à Benoît ROULLAND de réaliser des arrangements qui retranscrivent avec fidélité l'univers musical de chaque opéra abordé.


Durée totale : 56'20

Année 2017